Today we are launching our new Ardrossan Burgh catalogue, allowing researchers to browse the catalogue online for the first time. The material within the collection dates from 1845 to 1994 and contains records which cover a broad range of Ardrossan’s history, from Town Council minutes to the Ardrossan Harbour Company.
Records created by burgh officials, such as the Burgh Surveyor, offer a unique insight into the day to day running of the burgh. Below are examples of this, with site plans covering the areas of South Crescent, Glasgow Street and Parkhouse Road dating from 1940. These show where air raid shelters and baffle walls were located, as well as including markings for where proposed new shelters could be built.
Another item within the collection is a visitors’ book covering the period 1956 to 1974, which includes the signatures of Queen Elizabeth II and the Duke of Edinburgh from their visit to Ardrossan in 1956. During this visit they also went to Kilwinning, Irvine, Ayr and Burns Cottage in Alloway.
This is our second North Ayrshire Burgh to be made available online and has resulted in an additional 226 records being made accessible for the first time. The records are available to view by appointment at Ayrshire Archives Headquarters in Auchincruive on Tuesdays.